Safe Streets Awards 2015



The Safe Streets Summit 2015, hosted by the Broward MPO, elevated a countywide discussion on the economic, health, and safety impacts of Complete Streets and focused on Creating Accessible and Equitable Streets for All with an emphasis on transit. The Safe Streets Awards 2015, announced at the Safe Streets Summit on January 22, 2015, were an opportunity to highlight jurisdictions and individuals that have led by example in creating better streets for all users.

Check back to learn how you can vote for the 2016 awards.



Transit Priority Award

The first award, the Transit Priority Award, had 10 contenders; these included: Broward County, Coconut Creek, Coral Springs, Fort Lauderdale, Hollywood, Lauderdale Lakes, Lauderdale-By-The-Sea, Lazy Lake, Oakland Park, and Weston. The winner, the City of Fort Lauderdale in Partnership with TMA, is a local jurisdication that has worked closely with partner agencies to prioritize access to transit within their community.




Complete Streets Community Award

Ten jurisdictions in Broward were nominated for the Complete Streets Community Award. These included: Broward County, Coconut Creek, Coral Springs, Deerfield Beach, Fort Lauderdale, Lauderdale Lakes, Laderdale-By-The-Sea, Lazy Lake, Oakland Park, and Sunrise. This year’s award went to the City of Coconut Creek which represents a local government that has done an outstanding job engaging the community in planning for Complete Streets.





Complete Streets Champion Award

More than a dozen individuals were nominated for the Complete Streets Champion Award. This year's winner, Mark Horowitz, was identified as an exceptional leader and catalyst in advacing Complete Streets in Broward County.